Official Alberta Bible College Logo

Image via Wikipedia

Okay so it is more like night one, and how you ask gentle reader did I wind up at Alberta Bible College‘s Emerge Youth Conference (Little known fact, I am actually an ABC Alumni shocking isn’t it?). But I actually wound up at the conference with my hunny, because I made a usual smart alec comment (astounding coming from Ty I know) to my colleague who was planning the event, and well she called my bluff so tomorrow I am speaking on walking and serving with God based on the Shema in Deuteronomy.

But I digress, tonight was the kick off and how my Alma Mater has changed… there was an electric energy from the students, an energy that maybe I wasn’t aware of, or did not want to be aware of while attending. The night kicked off with a high powered worship dance montage, then went into excellent worship provided by Grand Prairie Church of Christ’s worship band. The first speaker was Storm Moore from Kelowna, BC speaking on fearing and loving God another good set of worship, then small groups for those in attendance and by the looks of it the night will end with sumo suit wrestling.

So what is my reflection as I prayerfully prepare to do theology with high school kids and their pastors? Simple, that upon reflection too often we look at the age of someone and think we don’t need to go deep…yet for a true spirit of living life with God to “emerge” we need to take the opportunity to go deep with the youngest in our midst and affirm the calls God is placing on their hearts.

So what can be expected tomorrow? Another amazing day where I pray the spirit moves…

As for my chat, well we are going to do theology on the Shema…take life experience (and to be honest my ink and scars (interior/exterior) relate more to a life that equates to HBO than CW) add in one’s learnings in academia, crack open the bible and become open to the Holy Spirit for all this to work together to discover God’s will…

So take a swing by Alberta Bible College on Northmount Drive Tomorrow and see if there’s still room to register, and join the journey to Emerge into the love of God and living life out of this love…Let’s discover our call.

Leave a Reply

