The making of a post-sectarian Francisan

Posted: October 26, 2012 by Ty in Musings, Spirituality
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post-sectarian? Where did that word come from? Well, it could just as easily read post-denominational but didn’t want to rip off Matthew Fox too much. It truly isn’t as brutal as his journey from the Roman Catholic Church to the Episcopal Church, but it has given me pause to think and reflect on discernment.

After leaving the TSSF/OEF and fellowship with the OFS I reflect on the desire for the monastic life.  But what is the secular monastic life? It is the rule of life ministry that leads into discipline within a supportive community to discover the living (Cosmic) Christ.

So as I sit and pray/meditate I look within to seek the will of the Holy Mystery. Am I called to be an Ecumenical or Anglican or Catholic Secular Franciscan? Am I called to another order where my only fellowship unless I travelled many miles is online?

None of the above. For a realization that has crept into my soul is simple, the vocation is there regardless of the titles, and yes the community is forming. Something new has emerged on the horizon, that is why it is post-sectarian (denominational) because this call to be a monastic within the community is to be lived within my ecclecticness.

English: Flag of the Anglican Communion

English: Flag of the Anglican Communion (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

