Order of Friars Minor - the Franciscans' coat ...

Order of Friars Minor – the Franciscans’ coat of arms (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Throughout my time with the Franciscans (through whichever hashtag you want on to it), in community I prayerfully developed my own personal reflection of the Franciscan Rule.  When I left the order I adapted my rule, but it has been many years since I have revisited it to see if as the TSSF stipulates it is still relevant to my life ministry context.

Over the next little while I am going to prayerfully revise my rule, here is my starting point of a mashup:

My Rule of Life Ministry

Is to recognize a Triune Faith and the diversity of the Body and the miracles that it can lead to. Through prayer (in the form of the Word, Meditation and vocal) to discern where I am meant to serve and by my service show the Love of Christ in my community, whatever forms it is meant to take in the Call of the Holy Spirit.

My lifetime ministry will be centred on God’s calling, Christ’s Wisdom and The Holy Spirit’s empowerment.

1.       Participate in the Eucharist as often as my faith community celebrates.

2.       Practice daily self-examination at night during my evening meditations and to practice reconciliation with a mentor once a year.

3.       Personal Prayer including meditation, intercession, thanksgiving, song, creative arts, writing, drama, Tai Chi and possibly dance and yoga. I will spend time daily in prayer for fellow travelers on the path, our political and spiritual leaders, for those still seeking to know unconditional Love, and those too scared to accept it. I will spend time just listening to God, and his creation to know where I am meant to be and how to serve.

4.       Self-Denial: I am called to know, and show empathy, for the brokenness of the world and its materialism, but not to indulge

 

deeply in the gluttony of wants that have become needs in Canada. To share what God has blessed me with in service to those less fortunate whether it is spiritually or economically. As well as a voice for the voiceless in work for human rights and the relief of suffering. I will endeavour to a non-violent life.

5.       I will take a retreat annually, and a weekly Sabbath.

6.       Daily Bible study and meditation through spiritual and life formation materials, as well as daily prayers.

7.       Live Simplicity through choosing to live simply, eliminating excessive possessions, answering the call for need when it is made, not envying or competing with my neighbour, and sharing the blessings God has poured out on me with those who do not have as much.

8.       Work: I will practice Liberation-Wisdom Christian values in the workplace.

9. My Obedience is to follow Christ, in particular through my living of the Gospel Life, daily prayer, meeting with my Spiritual Director; financial donations to world changers and meeting with fellow travelers whenever possible.

Three Wisdom Teachings I centre my service on, knowing that I am saved by Grace, but must respond are:

James 2:18 (NASB): But someone may well say, “You have faith and I have works; show me your faith without works and I will show you my faith by my works.”

Matthew 22:39 (NASB) “You shall love your neighbour as yourself; and the great commandment to Love God that came before it. (Matthew 22: 34-40)

The Parable of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10:30-37).

Comments
  1. Revived Archives « A Robin Hood's Musing says:

    […] Renewal of Rule (tyragan.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

