Liberal Party logo, 2004-2009

Liberal Party logo, 2004-2009 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The leadership race for the third party in Parliament is heating up, here are some of the mass e-communiques from contenders trying to rally support. Join the party at: http://www.liberal.ca

» Cliquez ici pour le message en français

Ty,

One month ago I stepped       up to enter the Liberal leadership race for one reason and one reason       only: you.

I stepped up because       all across our country, hard-working Canadians like you told me they       thought I could change the country for the better — better jobs for our       children, smarter investments in our people, and government and business       working together.

I stepped up because we       need a government that acts in our best interests – a government that       will provide a prosperous future for all Canadians, a stronger, more       diversified economy and a society where everyone has the opportunity to       succeed.

I stepped up. But I       can’t do it alone.

Take 60 seconds today       and help me do the work that needs to be done.

With your $25 we can keep fighting for the Canada we       believe in.

Together, we can let       Canadians know that the Liberal Party of Canada is listening to them.

I hope I can count on       you. Only together can we make the change we all seek.

Marc

Ty,

Le mois       dernier, je me suis présenté comme candidat à la course à la chefferie du       Parti libéral du Canada à cause de gens comme vous.

Je me suis présenté parce qu’à travers le pays, les Canadiens et       Canadiennes m’ont dit qu’ils croyaient que je serais capable de changer       notre pays pour le mieux, avec de meilleurs emplois pour nos enfants, des       investissements plus efficaces pour appuyer la population canadienne, et       un gouvernement et des entreprises qui travaillent ensemble.

Je me suis présenté parce que nous avons besoin d’un gouvernement qui       défend nos intérêts, d’un gouvernement qui peut offrir un avenir prospère       pour tous les Canadiens, d’une économie plus forte et diversifiée et       d’une société où chacun a la possibilité de réaliser ses objectifs.

Je veux affronter les défis, mais pour ce faire, j’ai besoin de vous.

Je vous invite à prendre 60 secondes aujourd’hui pour m’aider à réaliser       cet important travail.

Avec votre don de 25 $, nous pouvons nous battre pour notre       Canada.

Ensemble, nous pouvons faire savoir au peuple canadien que le Parti       libéral du Canada est à l’écoute.

J’espère pouvoir compter sur vous. C’est ensemble que nous pouvons       changer les choses pour le mieux.

Marc

        
© 2012 Marc Garneau, all rights reserved.       Authorized by the Financial Agent
© 2012 Marc Garneau, tous droits réservés. Autorisé par l’Agent       financier.

Hello   Ty,

I   am honoured to put my name forward to become the next Leader of the Liberal   Party of Canada.

My vision is for a truly Sustainable Society in Canada –   one that is socially, environmentally, economically, and fiscally viable –   for the next seven generations, not just the next seven months of an economic   plan or the next seven minutes of a news cycle.

As a parent, an immigrant and a successful, woman entrepreneur, my experience is the Canadian experience. And as a former BC   MLA and Cabinet Minister as well as serving as the Member of Parliament for   Vancouver Quadra since 2008, I know how it feels to work hard and win. I know   what it takes to govern.

The Liberal Party needs a leader who embraces our diverse Canadian experience   in all regions of our country and is ready to take on the tough job of   uniting us in that diversity. A Leader with a proven track record and the   courage to persevere in the face of the current political, economic and   societal challenges facing Canada: the alarming erosion of our democratic   principles; growing debt and deficits – both public and private; income   inequality; uncertainty for our youth; climate change; and, the often   disrespectful place given to our aboriginal peoples.

Reforming our democratic institutions: It is clear that   our electoral system is in need of reform. Exaggerated seat counts that do   not relate to the percentage of votes obtained have been a feature of   Canadian politics for some time. To help us get there, for the 2015 election,   I will leave the door open to responding to local ridings who wish to engage   in electoral cooperation with other progressive parties.

Cannabis: Legalize, regulate, control, and tax it. The   evidence is clear. Many stakeholders agree. We can reduce crime. We can   protect our youth. We can save health care resources. We can take money away   from organized crime and put it into useful programs and the pockets of   citizens.

Transitioning to a Clean Energy Economy
: Putting a price on   carbon. Putting a price on carbon and investing in clean energy resources   will help Canada balance the need for a healthy environment and a thriving,   competitive economy.

Women’s leadership in public and private governance.   Women bring enormous strengths to public life. I will make having a critical   mass of women in leadership roles in Canada – in the House of Commons, the   executive branch of government, and on the boards of public corporations – a   public policy priority.

I urge you to investigate some of my proposals further at joycemurray.ca and see first-hand what others are saying   about me and my initiatives.

At joycemurray.ca you can also sign up to volunteer, to donate and to become a Liberal Party Supporter so that you can vote for me in April!

Please join me to make our shared vision of a healthy, prosperous and   generous Canada a reality once again.

Joyce
________________________________________________________________
Joyce Murray a besoin de votre aide aujourd’hui!

Bonjour   Ty,

J’ai l’honneur de poser ma   candidature à la direction du Parti libéral du Canada.

Ma vision pour le Canada est celle d’une société durable   – une société qui est socialement, écologiquement, économiquement et financièrement   viable – pour les sept générations à venir, et pas seulement les sept   prochains mois d’un plan économique ou les sept prochaines minutes des   nouvelles.

En tant que mère, immigrante et entrepreneuse, mon expérience est l’expérience Canadienne. Comme une   ancienne députée et ministre en C.-B. et députée actuelle de Vancouver   Quadra, je sais qu’il faut du travail acharné pour réussir. Je sais ce qu’il   faut pour gouverner.

Le Parti libéral a besoin d’un chef qui apprécie notre expérience Canadienne   diversifiée dans toutes les régions de notre pays et qui est prêt à nous unir   tout en respectant cette diversité. Il faut un chef qui a prouvé ses   capacités et qui a le courage de persévérer face aux défis politiques, sociales   et économiques d’aujourd’hui : l’érosion alarmante des principes   démocratiques; l’accroissement de la dette et des déficits; l’inégalité des   revenus et l’incertitude qui confronte nos jeunes; le changement climatique;   et, la place souvent irrespectueuse donnée à nos peuples autochtones.

La réforme de nos institutions démocratiques: Il est   évident que notre système électoral est en besoin de réforme. Le nombre de   sièges exagérés qui ne se rapporte pas au pourcentage de votes obtenues est   caractéristique de la politique canadienne pendant longtemps. Pour y   parvenir, je laisserai la porte ouverte pour répondre aux situations   particulières des circonscriptions locales durant l’élection de 2015.   J’engagerai la coopération électorale si demandée.

Le cannabis: La solution est de le légaliser,   réglementer, contrôler, et taxer. La preuve est claire. Plusieurs   intervenants la supporte. NOUS pouvons protéger nos jeunes. Nous pouvons   économiser les ressources de soin de santé. Nous pouvons enlever l’argent du   crime organisé et le mettre dans des programmes utiles et dans les poches des   citoyens.

La transition vers une économie de l’énergie propre
: Mettons un   prix sur le carbone. En mettant un prix sur le carbone et en investissant   dans les ressources d’énergie propre, le Canada pourrait concilier la   nécessité d’un environnement sain et une économie prospère et compétitive.

Le leadership des femmes   dans la gouvernance publique et privée: Les femmes apportent d’énormes   avantages à la vie publique. Je m’assurerais qu’avoir une masse critique de   femmes dans des positions dirigeantes – à la Chambre des communes, la branche   exécutive du gouvernement et sur les conseils d’administration des   entreprises publiques, est une priorité des politiques publiques.

Je vous invite à visiter joycemurray.ca pour explorer mes propositions d’avantage   et pour voir ce que les autres ont dit à propos de moi et mes initiatives.

À joycemurray.ca vous pouvez aussi vous inscrire à devenir bénévole, à faire un don et à devenir sympathisant du Parti libéral pour voter pour moi   en avril!

Je vous invite à vous joindre à moi pour s’assurer que notre vision partagée   d’un Canada sain, prospère et généreux redevient une réalité.

Joyce


Donate

Volunteer

Support

Faire un don

Être bénévole

Nous soutenir

    

    

 

(le français suit)

The   Liberal Party I will lead…

Ty

As you know, I am running for leadership of the Liberal Party of Canada (Check out my launch   video!).

The Liberal Party I will lead will bring our Canada back by having the   substance and the courage to stand up and fight for what we believe is right.

Stephen Harper is creating a smaller, meaner, divided world – a tarnished and   un-democratic version of our country. That’s not my Canada, nor is it yours.   The Liberal Party that I lead will say, “No more.” We will not wait   and react to attacks. We will take the fight to him. And we will win.

But to do that, I need your help.

* Please sign up as   a SUPPORTER to vote for me: It’s free, and   yes – every vote will count.
* Please
DONATE:   Your contribution of $20 – right up to the maximum of $1,200 – is critical.   The tax credits are very generous.

Many of you know that I ran for the leadership in 2006. Much was said at that   time about what Canada needed, what the Party needed. It all sounded very   good – there was indeed much to be done. But what has happened since then? We   lost two more elections, the last being our worst ever.

We can’t just keep saying the same things and hope our fortunes will change.   We must take action. There are no silver bullets. It will take a lot of hard   work, determination, substance, and courage – it will take real leadership –   to stand up and fight for what we believe.

That is why I’m running.

The best way to know what a person is capable of doing is to see what they   have already done – and how they did it. Here’s what I’ve accomplished so far. I have   also gathered together a sample of speeches, articles, op eds, and other   commentary I’ve done, to show my views and what I stand for. Please have a look.

If you have any questions, please contact us at info@marthahallfindlay.ca.

I need your help to bring our Canada back. Thank you for being a part of the   Liberal Party’s future success,
Martha   Hall Findlay

          @mhallfindlay

——————————————–


Le Parti libéral que   je dirigerai…

Ty

Comme vous le savez, j’ai posé ma candidature pour devenir chef du Parti   libéral du Canada. (Voir vidéo de l’annonce!)

Le Parti libéral que je dirigerai nous ramènera notre Canada, en ayant la   substance et le courage de prendre position et de se battre pour ce que nous   croyons.

Stephen Harper crée une version de notre pays qui plus petit, plus mesquin,   divisé, terni sur la scène internationale et à la fois anti-démocratique. Ce   n’est pas mon Canada, ni le vôtre. Le Parti libéral que je dirigerai dira:   ”C’est assez.” Nous n’attendrons plus, et nous ne réagirons pas aux   attaques. Nous le confronterons et nous gagnerons.

Mais pour y arriver, j’ai besoin de votre aide.

* Je vous invite à m’appuyer dans ma démarche en   votant pour moi. C’est gratuit. Et oui, chaque vote compte.
* Vos
contributions sont aussi importantes: votre contribution, jusqu’à   un maximum de 1200$, est essentiel à notre succès. Les crédits d’impôt sont   très généreux.

Pour plusieurs d’entre vous, vous vous   souvenez que je me suis présentée à la chefferie du parti en 2006. Beaucoup   avait été dit à l’époque en ce que le Canada avait besoin et aussi le parti.   Ceci était fort pertinent, car il y avait beaucoup à faire. Mais qu’est qui   est arrivé depuis? Nous avons perdu deux élections, et la dernière, la pire   de notre histoire.

Nous nous ne pouvons plus répéter les mêmes choses et de souhaiter un   changement de fortune. Nous devons agir. Il n’y a pas de recette magique.   Ceci va nécessiter un travail acharné, de la détermination, de la substance   ainsi que du courage. Le tout va aussi requérir du leadership pour se tenir   droit et de se battre en ce que nous croyons.

Et, ce sont pour ces raisons que je me présente.

Pour apprécier ce qu’un individu peut accomplir dans le futur, c’est de   pouvoir évaluer ses réalisations antérieures et de voir comment ils se sont   pris pour les réaliser. Voici mes réalisations à ce jour. De plus,   voici un sommaire de mes discours, articles, opinions et autres commentaires   publiés récemment. Ceci vous aidera à apprécier ma vision et ce pour lequel   je me défends. Je vous invite à consulter ce lien.

Si vous avez des questions, contactez-nous au info@marthahallfindlay.ca.

J’ai besoin de votre aide pour retrouver notre Canada. Merci de faire partie   de la réussite future du Parti libéral.
Martha Hall   Findlay

          @mhallfindlay

Unsubscribe

 

Ty,

I have a plan to make sure that tomorrow’s jobs are waiting     when our children are ready for them, a plan that puts Canada’s most     valuable resource first – its people.

This plan is about recognizing our challenges and making the     bold changes needed to meet them.

It’s a plan about the Liberal values that you and I share     for Canada – and that Stephen Harper is trying to erase from the face of     our country.

I have a plan, but I need your help.

Please take     30 seconds right now to register your support and tell me what you think we     should be discussing in this leadership race.

Last week, I outlined my four-point economic plan to improve     Canadian productivity and innovation; invest in workplace skills; integrate     skilled new Canadians into the workforce; and tackle our unacceptably high     youth unemployment rate.

I have a plan. And that’s what leadership is all about.

– Marc

Ty,

J’ai un     plan pour garantir la création des emplois nécessaires pour répondre aux     besoins des prochaines générations, un plan qui accorde la priorité à la     plus importante richesse du Canada – son peuple.

Ce plan     reconnaîtra nos défis et énoncera les changements audacieux à apporter pour     les relever.

C’est un     plan axé sur les valeurs libérales que nous partageons pour le Canada – et     que Stephen Harper essaie d’écarter de notre pays.

J’ai un     plan, mais j’ai besoin de votre aide.

S’il vous plaît, prenez 30 secondes maintenant pour     signaler votre appui et me donner votre avis sur les sujets à débattre au     cours de cette course à la direction.

La     semaine dernière, j’ai présenté mon plan en quatre points pour améliorer la     productivité et l’innovation au Canada; investir dans les compétences en     milieu de travail; intégrer les nouveaux Canadiens qualifiés dans la     population active et s’attaquer à notre taux trop élevé de chômage chez les     jeunes.

J’ai un     plan qui fait preuve de leadership.

 

– Marc

    
© 2012 Marc Garneau, all rights reserved.     Authorized by the Financial Agent
© 2012 Marc Garneau, tous droits réservés. Autorisé par l’Agent financier.

 

                        

Deborah Coyne             for Liberal Leader

To learn more about Deborah, please visit her website »

Read Deborah’s Blog

Follow Deborah’s latest           news on her blog.

Support Deborah

Sign up as to support Deborah on our website.

Donate to           Deborah

You can make a donation           to Deborah’s campaign by cheque or credit card.

Connect with           Deborah

Follow her on Twitter, on Facebook, and           on YouTube.

Deborah En Français

Un Canada pour tous les           Canadiens
Au fur et à mesure que progresse ma campagne, mon objectif est de           vous proposer un site entièrement bilingue.


Dear friends,

 

Hello, and welcome to my first newsletter. I will be           providing regular updates on my campaign between now and April. It           has been quite a whirlwind so far.

I have traveled extensively by car, visiting communities throughout           British Columbia, and driven the Alaska Highway to Whitehorse. I have           toured Alberta and Saskatchewan, traveled through south and central           Ontario, and visited Winnipeg, Montreal, Yellowknife and Gander. And           I am just getting started.

Across the country, the response has been great. There is growing           agreement that Canadians need to get off the sidelines, and so does           our federal government. We need to once again begin working together           to solve the challenges that face our nation, and build One Canada           for All Canadians.

I hope I can earn your support for my candidacy. Please follow the           links in this newsletter for more information on my travels, my           upcoming events, my proposals, and my vision for One Canada. And           please consider making a donation today           to help me continue to bring this message to Canadians across this           great country.

Thank-you,

Deborah Coyne


Chers amis,

 

Bonjour et bienvenue à la première édition de ma           lettre d’information. D’ici au mois d’avril, je vous proposerai des           mises à jour régulières au sujet de ma campagne. Jusqu’ici, ça a été           toute une aventure!

Je me suis déplacée un peu partout en voiture, visitant           des collectivités aux quatre coins de la Colombie-Britannique, et           empruntant l’autoroute de l’Alaska jusqu’à Whitehorse. J’ai parcouru           l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan, le sud et le centre de l’Ontario, sans           oublier Winnipeg, Montréal, Yellowknife et Gander. Et ce n’est que le           début!

D’un bout à l’autre du pays, la réaction a été           extraordinairement chaleureuse. De plus en plus de Canadiens           reconnaissent qu’il est temps de s’impliquer davantage. Nous croyons           qu’il doit en être de même du gouvernement fédéral. Il faut que nous           recommencions à travailler ensemble dans le but de relever les défis           auxquels notre pays est confronté, et de bâtir Un Canada pour tous           les Canadiens.

J’espère que vous appuierez ma candidature. Veuillez           suivre les liens se trouvant dans cette lettre d’information pour en           savoir davantage sur mes déplacements, mes événements futurs, mes           propositions et ma vision pour Un Canada. Et sachez qu’en faisant une contribution           à ma campagne dès aujourd’hui, vous m’aiderez à porter ce           message aux Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre.

Merci,

Deborah Coyne


Un           Canada pour tous les Canadiens
Au fur et à mesure que progresse ma campagne, mon objectif est de           vous proposer un site entièrement bilingue. Entre-temps, vous y           trouverez une série de vidéos, de plateformes et de blogues           importants qui élaborent ma vision de Un Canada pour tous les           Canadiens.
[Cliquez pour en savoir           plus]


Deborah           in the National Post: China’s place in the oilpatch is too           complicated for simple answers
In this op/ed column published in the National Post, Deborah warns           against the search for simple answers on the Nexen acquisition, and           calls for a transparent framework to examine foreign takeovers in the           resource sector that puts Canada’s interests first.
[Deborah in the National           Post]


Deborah in the news

Deborah’s One Canada tour has received extensive media           coverage, including national television interviews on CTV’s Canada AM           and Question Period and interviews with newspapers across the           country, from Fort McMurray Today to the Brantford Expositor.

[Deborah in the press]


BLOGS

We must stand against omnibus changes to indigenous           rights

Canadians should take notice of the movement that has           emerged from indigenous communities over the past few weeks.
[Click here for more]

Nous           devons exprimer notre opposition aux changements proposés dans le           projet de loi omnibus en ce qui a trait aux droits des Autochtones
Les Canadiens doivent prendre conscience du mouvement ayant émergé           des collectivités autochtones au cours des dernières semaines.
[Cliquez pour en savoir           plus]

Meeting           Dr. Ewan Affleck, and working for health care comparability
I was fortunate during my trip to Yellowknife last month to have the           opportunity to meet with a real leader in the Canadian medical           community who is working to improve the health care system for all           Canadians.
[Click here for more]

Une           rencontre avec le Dr Ewan Affleck, et l’importance de soins de santé           comparables à l’échelle du pays
Lors de mon voyage du mois dernier à Yellowknife, j’ai eu la chance           de rencontrer un véritable leader de la communauté médicale           canadienne, qui ouvre pour l’amélioration du système de soins de           santé pour tous les Canadiens.
[Cliquez pour en savoir           plus]


DEBORAH ON THE ROAD

Deborah           launches Roadmap to One Canada in Toronto

On December 8th,           Deborah presented her Roadmap to One Canada for All Canadians in           Toronto, and shared her vision for our nation and for our Liberal Party.
[Learn more about the Roadmap to One Canada for           All CanadiansUn Canada pour tous les           Canadiens : une feuille de route]
[View our campaign           brochure in English and French]
Alberta,           Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories
In November, Deborah’s One Canada tour saw her fly to Yellowknife,           and drive for two weeks through Alberta and Saskatchewan. She           appeared on Edmonton’s Breakfast Television and CTV Saskatchewan’s           morning show, canvassed for Liberal by-election candidate Harvey           Locke in Calgary-Centre, and met with Liberals from Regina to           Canmore.
[Tweeting through Alberta,           Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories]

BC and The           Yukon
In October, Deborah’s One Canada tour took her on a three-week           driving tour of British Columbia and the Yukon. She dodged buffalo on           the Alaska Highway, visited where the Northern Gateway Pipeline would           terminate in Kitimat, and canvassed with Paul Summerville, the           Liberal candidate in the Victoria by-election.
[BC & Yukon photos           and news]


Coyne FAQ

One question I’m frequently asked is my position on the           decriminalization or legalization of marijuana. I support the           legalization and regulation of marijuana in Canada. The recent ballot           propositions in Colorado and Washington simply confirm where public           sentiment is going, and shows that governments on both sides of the           border need to catch up with their citizens on this one. Legalizing           and regulating marijuana will reduce the burden on our criminal           justice system and decriminalize what is usually a recreational           activity.
[Read more about my policy           vision]


I need your help

If I’m going to make this a real, competitive race, I need your help           today. We need to create a fundamentally different Liberal Party. We           need to rebuild that grassroots coalition and re-earn the trust of           Canadians tired of the superficiality of modern politics, and the           focus on personalities over substance. Every donation helps, and your           support could make the difference. Please just take a moment to click           on the link to help us all rebuild the Liberal Party, and One Canada.
[Click here to make a           donation]

Authorized by the       Financial Agent.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

